Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

2015 College of Pharmacy Research Day


The 6th Annual Research day was a great success, with ~ 90 posters presented, a compelling keynote seminar by Dr. Carter, and great participation from our alumni and external colleagues from industry. We would like to thank our corporate sponsors (Takeda, Lundbeck, and TEVA), along with our University supporters (UI Health Cancer Center, OTM Innovate@UIC, CCTS, SAFC, and AAPS) that provided funds for the event and the 12 poster awards.

Dr. Barry Carter, PharmD, FCCP, FAHA, FASH, FAPHA

Keynote Presentation: “Team-Based Care for Hypertension in the Age of Healthcare Reform”


Dr. Barry L. Carter, PharmD, FCCP, FAHA, FASH, FAPHA

Patrick E. Keefe Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, College of Pharmacy, University of Iowa

Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa

Dr. Gregory Calip, PharmD, MPH, PhD

Hans W. Vahlteich Research Award: “Commonly Used Medications and Multiple Myleoma Risk”


Dr. Gregory S. Calip, PharmD, MPH, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacy Systems, Outcomes and Policy

Dr. Jeremy Johnson, PharmD, PhD

Hans W. Vahlteich Research Award: “Optimizing Xanthones from Garcinia mangostana as Androgen Receptor Degradation Enhancers”


Dr. Jeremy J. Johnson, PharmD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice

Dr. Sarfaraz Niazi, PhD '74

Alumnus of the Year Award


Dr. Sarfaraz Niazi, PhD ’74

Founder, Executive Chairman, Pharmaceutical Scientist, Inc.

Founder, Adello Biologics, LLC.

Al Mancini, BS '76

Retzky Philanthropic Leadership Award


Al Mancini, BS ’76

Clinical Instructor, UIC College of Pharmacy

Editorial Advisory Board, Institute of Validation Technology (IVT)

2014 Graduate Student Awards and External Trainee Awards Heading link

This year, we have given out almost $25,000 in graduate student awards and scholarships.  To see who received which award and for the list of other significant external awards received by our graduate students and postdocs, click on the link below.

2015 Poster Award Winners Heading link

  • Biology: Molecular & Cell Biology; Mechanism of Action

    • First prize: for Excellence in Research

    F. Sezen Meydan, S. Karthikeyan, D. Klepacki, N. Vazquez-Laslop, Alexander Mankin, “Programmed Frameshifting Modulates the Expression”

    • Second prize:  for Excellence in Research

    Tina Mistry, Shahila Mehboob, Lena Truong, Michael E. Johnson, “Mode of Action of Novel Benzimidazole-based FabI Inhibitors in Staphylococcus aureus


  • Chemistry: Discovery, Modeling, Design & Evaluation of Novel Drugs; Detection & Delivery Systems

    • First prize:  for Excellence in Research

    Ja Hye Myung, Ashley Cha, Kevin Tam, Andrew Wang, Seungpyo Hong, “Circulating Tumor Cells: Not All Detected Cells Are Bad and Not All Bad Cells Are Detected”

    • Second prize: for Excellence in Research

    Jason Buhrman, Jamie Rayahin, Yu Zhang, Mary Tang, Richard Gemeinhart, “Recombinant Protein Immobilization and Controlled-Release Mediated by Versatile, Non-Covalent Protein Anchor”

  • Clinical, Social, and Applied Sciences

    • First prize:  for Excellence in Research

    Ellie Jhun, Y. Yao, R. Molokie, A. K. Mack, D. J. Wilkie, Jim Z. Wang, “Sickle Cell Pain Genetics and the Monoamine Neurotransmitter System”

    • Second prize:  for Excellence in Research

    Beenish Manzoor, J. Duarte, J. Lee, W. Galanter, S. Walton, N. Galanter, J. Krishnan, J. Bauman, L. Cavallari, Edith Nutescu, “The Impact of Race on the Association Between a Novel Genotype-Guided Personalized Warfarin Service and Clinical Outcomes in an Ethnically Diverse Population”

  • Innovate@UIC Innovation Award

    • First prize

    Rasika Phasalkar, Joo-Won Nam, Shao-Nong Chen, James McAlpine, Ariene Leme, Cristina Vidal, Ana Bedran-Russo, Guido Pauli, “Dimeric and Trimeric Proanthocyanidins from Grapes: A Promising Source for Dental Biomaterials”

    • Second prize

    Atul Jain, Terry Moore, “A Scaffold-hopping Approach to Discovery of Keap1/Nrf2 Inhibitors”

  • UICancer Center Cancer Science Prize

    • First prize

    Thao ND Pham, Bethany White, Debra Tonetti, “Protein Kinase Cα (PKCα) is a Novel Regulator of FOXC2 and p120-catenin in Triple Negative and Endocrine-Resistant Breast Cancer”

    • Second prize

    Tareisha Dunlap, Shuai Wang, Charlotte Simmler, Guido Pauli, Birgit Dietz, Judy L. Bolton, “Licochalcone A from Glycyrrhiza inflata Modulates P450 1B1-mediated Estrogen Oxidative Metabolism in MCF-10A Cells”

  • Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) Multidisciplinary Team Science Award

    Xiaoyu Hu, F. Huang, M. Szymusiak, Y. Liu, Z. Jim Wang, “Curcumin Attentuate Opioid Tolerance, Dependence, and Hyperalgesia by Inhibiting CaMKIIα Activity”

  • Student Chapter Choice Awards

    American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) 

    Wei-Lun Chen, Joanna Burdette, Steven Swanson, “Silvestrol Induces Autophagy and Apoptosis in Human Melanoma Cells”

Thank you for your Support! Heading link


2015 Sponsors