Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

College of Pharmacy Research Day

Research Day is an annual College-wide event that brings together our trainees, alumni, faculty members, and staff as well as industry and academic colleagues from the Chicago area.

The 13th Annual Research day was a great success, with 80 posters presented, a fantastic keynote seminar by Dr. Nandita Khera, and great participation from our alumni and external colleagues from industry, including 50 poster judges. We would like to thank our corporate sponsors (Genentech), along with our University supporters (OTM Innovate@UIC, UI Cancer Center, CCTS, Pharmaceutical Sciences GSA, ISPOR, and ISPE) and other outside donors (Swanson Family Research Day Fund) that provided funds for the event and poster awards.

Dr. Nandita Khera, MD, MPH

Keynote Presentation: “Financial Toxicity of Cancer Treatment: A Growing Threat to Access and Quality of Cancer Care”


Dr. Nandita Khera, MD, MPH

Consultant, Division of Hematology/Oncology
Associate Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine
Medical Director, Ambulatory Infusion Center
Associate Chair for Digital Transformation and Practice Integration

Department of Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Phoenix, AZ

Dr. Stephanie Flowers, PharmD, PhD

Hans W. Vahlteich Research Award: “Antipsychotic Associated Acquisition of Antimicrobial Resistance Mechanisms in Gut Microbiota”


Stephanie Flowers, PharmD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice

Dr. Adam Bress, PharmD, MS

Research Impact Award: 2011 UIC PGY2 Cardiology Residency, 2013 UIC Pharmacogenomics Fellow


Adam Bress, PharmD, MS

Associate Professor & Vice Chair of Research, Population Health Sciences, University of Utah

2021 Graduate Student Awards and External Trainee Awards Heading link

This year, we have given out over $36,000 in graduate student awards & scholarships, travel awards, and recruiting scholarships.  To see who received which award and for the list of other significant external awards received by our graduate students and postdocs, click on the link below.

2022 Poster Award Winners

Biology: Molecular & Cell Biology; Mechanism of ActionGenentech Award for Excellence in Research 1st PlaceManead Khin, Manuel Rangel-Grimaldo, Huzefa A. Raja, Ziwei Zhang, Julia Ekiert, Nicholas H. Oberlies, Yu Gao, Joanna E. BurdetteWheldone, a Fungal Secondary Metabolite, Plays a Role in Microtubule Regulation of Ovarian Cancer
Biology: Molecular & Cell Biology; Mechanism of ActionSwanson Family Day Research Fund Award for Excellence in Research 2nd PlaceCory Matsumoto, Xinhao Shao, Marko Bogosavljevic, Liang Chen, Yu GaoAutomated Container-less Cell Processing Method for Single-cell Proteomics
Biology: Molecular & Cell Biology; Mechanism of ActionUIC College of Pharmacy Award for Excellence in Research 3rd PlaceMonica Haughan, Tova Bergsten, Hannah Lusk, Sarah Selvey, Aloysius Klingelhutz, Laura M. Sanchez, Joanna E. BurdetteProbing the Molecular Crosstalk Between Ovarian Cancer and Omentum
Chemistry: Discovery, Modeling, Design & Evaluation of Novel Drugs; Detection & Delivery SystemsGenentech Award for Excellence in Research 1st PlaceDimosthenis A. Koinas,Bo Wu, Xiaojuan Zhou, Anthony Y. Pajak, Keith W. Miller, Karol S. BruzikDesign and Development of GABA-ergic Null Allosteric Ligands and Their Use as Reversal Agents to General Anesthesia
Chemistry: Discovery, Modeling, Design & Evaluation of Novel Drugs; Detection & Delivery SystemsSwanson Family Day Research Fund for Excellence in Research 2nd PlaceZiwei Zhang, Kevin Drew, Yu GaoKinome-wide Small Molecule Binding Profiling by Size-exclusion Chromatography
Chemistry: Discovery, Modeling, Design & Evaluation of Novel Drugs; Detection & Delivery SystemsUIC College of Pharmacy Award for Excellence in Research 3rd PlaceAngeliki Andrianopoulous, Richard A. GemeinhartEngineering of Glutathione-conjugated Hydrogels for Protein Delivery
Clinical, Social, and Applied SciencesGenentech Award for Excellence in Research 1st PlaceMezhgan Aslamy, Kent Hanson, A. Simon Pickard, Mary H. Smart, Hadeel Fouad, Seva Tikhomirov, Yasmeen Hassoun, Emir Carkovic , Maggie Brabec, Todd A. LeeBarriers to Naloxone Dispensing in Community Pharmacies: Comparing Results from a 2021 and 2022 Educational Outreach Initiative
Clinical, Social, and Applied SciencesSwanson Family Day Research Fund Award for Excellence in Research 2nd PlaceDustin Woo, Eunice Kim, Christine Pham, Nancy L. Shapiro, Melissa Badowski, Robert J DidomenicoImpact of Clinical Research Design Elective Course on Students' Confidence in Research Skills
Clinical, Social, and Applied SciencesUIC College of Pharmacy Award for Excellence in Research 3rd PlaceNhan Dang, Dina Khalil, Jiehuan Sun, Aamina Naveed, Fatimata Soumare, Ajna HamidovicWaist Circumference and Its Association with Premenstrual Food Craving: The PHASE Longitudinal Study
Innovate@UIC Innovation Award1st Place (tie)Philana Phan, Zongmin ZhaoStealth Coated Undead Enucleated Cells for Anti-tumor Immunity
Innovate@UIC Innovation Award1st Place (tie)Chih-Jia Chao, Zongmin ZhaoIn situ Tumor Antigen Sourcing and Delivery by Migratory Dendritic Cells for Cancer Immunotherapy
Innovate@UIC Innovation Award1st Place (tie)Hanan Algarni,Zongmin ZhaoA Myeloid-derived Suppressor Cell (MDSC)-based Approach for Immune Targeting in Experimental Autoimmune Encephalomyelitis
UI Cancer Center Cancer Science Prize1st PlaceMarianne B. Palczewski, Hannah P. Kuschman, Sushma Sappa, Scott Gladstein, Kabirul Islam, Eric Kool, Vadim Backman, Douglas D. ThomasNitric Oxide Reprograms DNA Methylation in Triple-Negative Breast Cancer by Inhibiting DNA Demethylases TET and ALKBH2
UI Cancer Center Cancer Science Prize2nd PlaceHannah Petraitis Kuschman, Marianne B. Palczewski, Douglas D. ThomasNitric Oxide is an ‘Epitranscriptomic’ Regulator of m6A mRNA Methylation in TNBC
CCTS Multidisciplinary Team Science Award1st PlaceDidi Zha, Jared Sipes, Sagar Rayamajhi, Angela Russo, Harsh Pathak, Kailiang Li, Andrew K. Godwin, Joanna E. BurdetteProteomic Profiling of Fallopian Tube-derived Extracellular Vesicles Using a Microfluidic Tissue-on-Chip System
Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Student Association Award1st PlaceKyle Kremiller, Gauri Kulkarni, Chris Peters, Andrew P. RileyEnhancing Drug Discovery at the α9α10 Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor
Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Student Association Award2nd PlaceRocío Rivera Rodríguez, Jeremy J. JohnsonDiterpenes from Salvia rosmarinus Modulate the Nrf2 and AhR Receptors
ISPOR Student Chapter Choice Award1st PlaceMaja Kuharic, Victoria Kulbokas, Kent Hanson, Jonathan L. Nazari, Kanya Shah, Ai Nguyen, Tara Hensle, A. Simon PickardOFF Episode quality of Life Impact scAle (OFFELIA): Overview of the Development and Validation of a Measure of Quality of Life and Functional Impact of OFF Episodes in Parkinson’s disease
ISPE Student Chapter Choice Award1st PlaceBrendan Clark, Todd A. LeeRisk of Clinical Relapse of Multiple Sclerosis After Vaccination Against SARS-Cov-2: A Self-Controlled Case Series

Thank you for your Support! Heading link

2022 Sponsors




Setting aside the challenges of things being virtual…I am, again, overall impressed with the research work thoughtfully conceived and then carried out there at UIC COP. The students, both grad and PharmD, are receiving a measurably better education now than in the past, because of your efforts.  You should all go home at night, virtually!, knowing that you are training and educating future leaders in pharmacy and the health care professions.

Dr. S. Albert Edwards, PharmD, RAC, FRAPS  |  2018 UIC College of Pharmacy Alumnus of the Year, commenting on the success of the Virtual Program

Research Day 2018 Heading link